In 2000, the Commission on Fire Accreditation International (CFAI) established the Ray Picard Award. We designed this annual award to recognize Chief Ray Picard’s vision in pioneering quality improvement for the fire and emergency service. Chief Picard was one of the earliest champions of the self-assessment and accreditation process that has led to a culture and paradigm shift within the fire service.

This annual award will be presented to an individual who exemplifies the ability, character, dedication, leadership, and visionary attributes Chief Picard exhibited. The individual should personify Chief Picard’s contributions and exceptional leadership to the CFAI and the accreditation of fire service organizations.

The 2019 CFAI Ray Picard Award went to Captain Mike Hall (CFO-2012) of the Olathe Fire Department, Kansas. The award recognizes leadership and outstanding contribution to the CFAI and the fire and emergency services, and Captain Hall exemplifies these qualities. He is a strong proponent within the accreditation community, his organization and his community. He has served as an accreditation manager, peer assessor, consortium vice chair, fire officer designee, volunteer on CPSE improvement processes and as an Excellence Conference presenter. He is committed to this work and sees the value for his own professional development, his agency, and the entire fire service.